Resources

Mindfulness, Meditation & Imagery

lemon Return to the topics list at any time by clicking Resources on the left-hand menu. 

 

Websites

 

National Institute of Mental Health | http://www.nimh.nih.gov/

Lead federal agency for research on mental disorders

 

Print

Boroson, M. (2009). One-Moment meditation: Stillness for People on the Go. Winter Road Publishing. 

Goldstein, E., & Stahl, B. (2015). Mbsr every day: daily practices from the heart of mindfulness-based stress reduction. Oakland, CA: New Harbinger Publications, Inc.

Kabat-Zinn, J. (2018). Falling Awake: How to Practice Mindfulness in Everyday Life. New York, NY: Hachette Books.

Kabat-Zinn, J. (2012). Mindfulness for beginners: reclaiming the present moment--and your lifeBoulder, CO: Sounds True.

Kabat-Zinn, J. (2018). The healing power of mindfulness: a new way of being. New York, NY: Hachette Books.

 

Video

Martin Boroson: One-Moment Meditation: How to Meditate in a Moment | https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YiC8ktpev30 

 

Other

Health Journeys: Audio library | https://www.healthjourneys.com/audio-library

- Guided imagery audio CDs and MP3s programs for stress, sleep, successful surgery, diabetes, depression, anxiety, smoking, pain and more.

Regan, Catherine. and Rick Seidel. Relaxation for Mind and Body: Pathways to Healing [audio CD]. Boulder, Colo.: Bull Publishing, 2012.

Medications, Herbs, Supplements & Other Treatments

lemon Return to the topics list at any time by clicking Resources on the left-hand menu. 

 

Websites

Choosing Wisely | http://www.choosingwisely.org/

Nonprofit collaboration of over 70 major medical organizations that reviews evidence on tests and treatments that are overused and should be avoided. Promotes conversations between clinicians and patients by helping patients choose care that is: supported by evidence, not duplicative of other tests or procedures already received, free from harm, and truly necessary.

Also, has a free downloadable app for Apple and Android devices

 

Consumer Lab | https://www.consumerlab.com/ 

Independent testing on nutritional products.

 

Consumer Reports | https://www.consumerreports.org 

Reviews and evaluates both alternative and conventional treatments and products.

 

Drugs.com | https://www.drugs.com/

Information on medications, pill identifier, interactions checker and more.

 

Food and Drug Administration (FDA): Educational Resources | https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-information-consumers/educational-resources-alphabetical-list

 

Health Canada: Licensed National Health Products Database | https://health-products.canada.ca/lnhpd-bdpsnh/index-eng.jsp

Website maintained by the government of Canada. It contains information about natural health products that have been issued a product license by Health Canada. It includes information on vitamin and mineral supplements, herb and plant-based remedies, traditional medicines such as Traditional Chinese Medicines or Ayurvedic (Indian) Medicines, homeopathic medicines, and many everyday consumer products. 

 

Medline Plus

 

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine | https://nccih.nih.gov/

A government agency providing research-based info. 

 

National Institute on Aging: Safe Use of Medications for Older Adults | https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/safe-use-medicines-older-adults

 

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database | https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com/ 

Clinical data on approximately 90,000 herbal products, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, homeopathic products, Ayurvedic medicines, complementary alternative medicines, integrative therapies, alternative treatments (such as acupuncture), traditional Chinese medicines products, and other natural remedies as well as a Natural Product / Drug Interaction Checker. 

 

The Public Health Agency of Canada: A-Z Index | https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/a-z.html

 

US Preventive Services Task Force | https://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/ 

An independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine that provide critical reviews of various screening tests and medical treatments for both professionals and consumers

 

WebMD: Drugs and Medications A to Z | https://www.webmd.com/drugs/2/index

 

Print

Griffith, H. Winter, and Stephen W. Moore. Complete Guide to Prescription and Nonprescription Drugs, 2018-2019. New York: Perigee Books, 2019.